flag image
Form Wealth Management

Town chairman race requires a primary

Two Linn supervisors leaving, two residents stepping in

January 12, 2011 | 09:00 AM
Linn — There hasn't been a town election this active in years.

Three people want to be chairman, which means a Feb. 15 primary election.

Incumbent Chairman James R. Weiss, W4656 Tory's Trail, will vie for his spot against challengers Allan J. Polyock, N146 Bissel Road, and Steve Mack, N1807 Sidney Smith Lane.

This marks the first primary election in recent memory for town voters to decide who becomes chairman.

In a primary, the top two vote-getters advance to the April 5 general election.

The two supervisor positions are being sought by candidates in uncontested races.

However, both incumbents — Tom Jacobs, N2008 South Lake Shore Drive, and Mike Palmer, W3861 Highway B — filed noncandidacy statements.

Now, the position being held by Jacobs is sought by Christine L. Jones, W3746 Linton Road.

S. Terry Woods, W4854 State Line Road, is seeking the spot held by Palmer.

click to see advertisement
This also is the first election since Dave Bollweg, former longtime town chairman, retired.

In April 2009, Bollweg cited health concerns and the controversy over the Police Department's sale of a lawn tractor impounded as evidence as reasons for his retirement.

Last summer, the Linn Town Board appointed Weiss to fill Bollweg's spot, vacating his old position as supervisor No. 1 — a job he had since December 2003.

Then, last fall, the board appointed Jacobs, a former longtime supervisor, to Weiss' spot.

Most of the candidates have served in local politics before. Previously, Polyock was a town chairman and a Walworth County Board supervisor.

click to see advertisement
Mack served on the Traver School Board.

Jones was a Linn Town Board supervisor.

Woods hasn't held an elected town government position.

Other races

Longtime Town Clerk-Treasurer Sue Polyock, W3790 Mohawk Road, and Municipal Judge Peter B. King, N1723 Maple Ridge Road, are seeking re-election to their respective positions in unopposed races.

click to see advertisement
So are most of the incumbents in local school districts.

However, incumbent Reek School Board member Brooke Grunow, N1645 Maple Ridge Road, will not.

According to Reek Administrator Lillian Henderson, Grunow decided not to run again, but she didn't file a noncandidacy statement.

That meant the deadline to file candidacy papers was extended until Friday, Jan. 7.

Ryan Southwick, N209 Bissell Road, is running in the April 5 election for Grunow's position.

Incumbent Reek School Board member Alex Palmer, N599 Mill Road, will seek re-election.

So will incumbent Traver School Board members Daniel Kundert, W2442 State Line Road, and Glen J. York, N931 Hillside Road.

Comments ()
Walworth County