flag image
Lake Geneva Chiropractic

BREAKING: Spangler, Wieseman land first-team honors on all-county squad

April 08, 2011 | 07:41 PM
The 2011 All-Walworth County basketball teams were announced today, and several area stars shone brightly.

None lit up the court more than two offensive juggernauts, Big Foot senior Courtney Spangler and Badger junior Lana Wieseman.

Both were named to the girls first team.

Spangler averaged 14.5 points per game for the Chiefs to go along with 7.9 rebounds, helping earn her first-team all-Rock Valley honors. Spangler's 24-point playoff-opening outburst helped the Lady Chiefs (6-18 overall) reach the Division 2 regional finals.

Badger coach David Jooss said Spangler is an "explosive player that can score in bunches."

"She can shoot with range and score inside which made her very difficult to guard," Jooss added.

But Spangler ended up second in area scoring, behind Wieseman, whose 15 point-per-contest mark was tops. The 6-footer also pulled down 6.3 boards per tilt in helping Badger to a 12-11 overall record. Wieseman was a first-team all-Southern Lakes pick.

"She has such a quick first step," said Big Foot coach Joe Wehrenberg about Wieseman. "She could flat-out score."

On the boys side, no area player made the first team for the first time in the award's 13-year existence.

However, Williams Bay junior Lawrence Crement, the area boys leading scorer at 16.1 points per game, and Faith Christian junior center Ben Sass (14.3 points per game), both represented the second team.

Badger junior Emma Kopp, who hit more three-pointers than anyone in the SLC this season with 51, found a spot on the girls second team. Kopp scored 11.1 points per contest and snatched 40 steals.

Here are the teams, which were voted on by county coaches and media:


First team

Tanner Plomb, 6-7, junior, East Troy

Nate Dodge, 6-3, sophomore, East Troy

Kyle Hoskins, 6-6, senior, Elkhorn

Marcus McLin, 5-8, senior, Delavan-Darien

Brett Prahl, 6-8, sophomore, East Troy

Player of the year: Plomb

Second team

Justin Fowlkes, 5-8, senior, Delavan-Darien

Lawrence Crement, 6-2, junior, Williams Bay

Ben Sass, 6-4, junior, Faith Christian

Brock Poggensee, 5-11, senior, Elkhorn

Myles Olsen, 6-1, junior, East Troy

Honorable mention

Brendan Gruenwald-Schmitz, Badger; Jose Castillo, Wisconsin School for the Deaf; Adam Montsma, Faith Christian; Tony Davis, WSD; Marcus Jones, East Troy; Braidon Voss, Whitewater; Kenny Walker, Big Foot; Ryan Bowes, Elkhorn; Bobby Lamparek, Badger; Dawson Miller, Whitewater; Will Swanson, Badger.


First team

Alana Cesarz, 6-2, senior, Delavan-Darien

Breanna Gaspervich, 5-5, sophomore, East Troy

Julia Shelbourn, 6-3, junior, Whitewater

Lana Wieseman, 6-0, junior, Badger

Courtney Spangler, 5-10, senior, Big Foot

Player of the year: Cesarz

Second team

Brooke Trewyn, 5-8, freshman, Whitewater

Grace Ames, 6-2, junior, Elkhorn

Rachel Atchinson, 5-7, sophomore, East Troy

Alicia Oleson, 5-7, sophomore, East Troy

Emma Kopp, 5-8, junior, Badger

Honorable mention

Stephanie Tadje, Williams Bay; Caitlin Dolan, East Troy; Ashley O'Neil, Delavan-Darien; Allison White, Elkhorn; Karina Reeves, Badger; Emily Schahczinski, Elkhorn

Comments ()
Regional News