Skip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.
Edit
Mystery review: P.I. faces the question, how well do you really know your parent
AP

Mystery review: P.I. faces the question, how well do you really know your parent

{{featured_button_text}}

"Once You Go This Far" by Kristen Lepionka; Minotaur (320 pages, $26.99)

___

The private eye category of mysteries continues to thrive because authors such as Kristen Lepionka who bring a fresh view. Following in the tradition of Sara Paretsky, Sue Grafton and Marcia Muller, the Shamus-winning Lepionka sculpts a realistic character in the form of P.I. Roxane Weary with intense, believable plots.

The fourth novel in this series, "Once You Go This Far" works well as a story about families, centering on just how well do adult children know about their parents' lives. Family is an important part of Roxane's life as the Columbus, Ohio, detective continues a close relationship with her two brothers and mother while still mourning the death of her father with whom she had a complicated relationship.

A quiet morning hike in a nearby park takes a turn when Roxane finds the body of Rebecca Newsome lying in a ravine off a popular trail. Roxane had just met Rebecca in the parking lot and the death had occurred mere minutes after that initial encounter. Rebecca's daughter, Maggie Holmer, has her doubts that her mother's death was a tragic accident as Rebecca was an enthusiastic outdoorswoman and an experienced hiker. Maggie, who gave birth to a daughter the day after her mother died, hires Roxane to investigate what was going on in the life of her mother with whom she had a complicated relationship. Maggie even has a suspect - Rebecca's jerk of an ex-husband Keir Metcalf, a former Toledo cop.

The case takes Roxane from the private school where Rebecca was a nurse to a casino in Windsor, Ontario, to a church whose leaders insist on controlling the details of its members' lives. Roxane learns that Maggie didn't know her mother as well as she thought she did. At the same time, Roxane discovers how little she knew about her own father.

Lepionka continues to delve into Roxane's psyche. Like her cases, Roxane is a work in progress - like we all are. In addition to her family issues, Roxane continues to wrestle with her feelings for Catherine Walsh with whom she has a rocky relationship as well as admitting her deepening feelings for a new lover.

"Once You Go This Far" proves that Lepionka's storytelling skills are far-reaching.

Visit the Sun Sentinel (Fort Lauderdale, Fla.) at www.sun-sentinel.com

Stay up-to-date on what's happening

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

"Sex With Presidents" By Eleanor Herman; William Morrow (384 pages, $27.99) ___ The key question that a book called "Sex With Presidents" needs to answer is: Whose was biggest? As in: Which president's sexual exploit-filled chapter is the biggest? The book about our skirtchasers-in-chief has a surprising answer: Franklin Delano Roosevelt has 34 pages devoted to his extracurricular activities, ...

"He Started It" by Samantha Downing; Berkley (400 pages, $26) ___ From the beginning of the highly entertaining "He Started It," Beth Morgan makes it clear why she should not, cannot, be your heroine. Her flaws and behavior won't allow her to be considered a heroine. But she does have a story to tell, she says, and it is a doozy. The witty, self-deprecating and observant Beth is locked in a ...

Netflix teetered on financial ruin just 20 years ago, when co-founder Reed Hastings failed to sell his struggling DVD rental subscription business to Blockbuster, eventually forcing him to lay off 30% of his staff as the nation slid into recession. But, in Hastings' view, the cuts winnowed the staff and allowed the remaining stars to thrive. Creativity surged, and over time, managers were ...

If we all read the same things, how dull would that be? I've been focusing on fiction during these strange days - but for those who thrive on nonfiction, here are six acclaimed new paperbacks just for you. "Furious Hours: Murder, Fraud, and the Last Trial of Harper Lee" by Casey Cep (Knopf, $16.95). I devoured this book last year, as will all fans of true crime, Lee's work and/or well-written ...

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.

Topics