Area students celebrate scholarships, degrees and more

Area students celebrate scholarships, degrees and more

Christian Karabas with Paul Ryan

Christian Karabas of Fontana, right, accepts Congressman Paul Ryan’s nomination to the U.S. Naval Academy. (Contributed photo/Regional News)

  • Riley Kleeman, Lake Geneva, and Audrey Mora, Williams Bay, received degrees May 12 from Rockford University in Rockford, Illinois.
  • Sarah Doreza, Fontana, graduated May 27 from Luther College in Decorah, Iowa, with a bachelor’s degree in sociology.
  • Local students who made the dean’s list in spring 2018 at Carthage College in Kenosha include Kristi Weinfurter and Lorien Van Dyke, both of Elkhorn, and Bridget Dvorak, Cassi Mennenoh and Joshua Kundert, all of Lake Geneva.
  • The Walworth County Deputy Sheriff’s Association 2108 scholarship recipients are Isabella DeNotto, Kayla Frye and Evan Rees, Williams Bay High School; Nicholas Schmeiden and Heather Ruszkiewicz, East Troy High School; Alexandra Trombley, Elkhorn High School; Carla Zuniga, Big Foot High School; Payton Hintz, Whitewater High School; and Cole Bechman, Faith Christian High School.
  • Joshua Higginson, of Lyons, graduated May 19 from Wisconsin Lutheran College with a bachelor’s degree in business administration.
  • Davis Porter, Fontana, graduated May 27 from the University of San Diego. Porter earned a bachelor’s degree in environmental studies.
  • Emily J. Sanders, Williams Bay, was named to the President’s List at Chippewa Valley Technical College for the spring semester.
  • Marissa Kovarik, Walworth, and Erin Schahczinski, Elkhorn, were named to the dean’s list at Edgewood College in Madison.
  • Marissa Kovarik. Walworth, and Arik Anderson, Christopher Dettman, Sydney Roe and Erin Schahczinski, all of Elkhorn, earned honors at Edgewood College in Madison.
  • Amy Skoczylas, Elkhorn, graduated as a doctor of veterinary medicine May 20 from Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine at Tufts University in North Grafton, Massachusetts.
  • Zoe Klesmith, Fontana, made the dean’s list and earned a bachelor of science in mechanical engineering from the Georgia Institute of Technology in Atlanta.
  • Ian Spolarich, Williams Bay, was named to the dean’s list at Lehigh University, Bethlehem, Pennsylvania.
  • Graduating from the University of Iowa are Maxwell Tracy, Genoa City, with a bachelor’s degree in economics; Braden Krien, Lake Geneva, public digital humanities certificate; Abigail Merhar, Lake Geneva, bachelor’s degree in communication studies; Tessa Ritchey, Walworth, bachelor’s in dance with distinction; and Carly O’Brien, Williams Bay, bachelor’s degree in accounting.
  • Julia Klok, Lake Geneva, was named to the spring 2018 honors list at Pomfret School in Pomfret, Connecticut.
  • UW-Whitewater students Kiley Lofy, Sydney Racky and Kate Russell were named to the 2017-18 Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Honor Roll. Lofy and Russell are from Lake Geneva, Racky from Walworth.
  • Mariah Davis, Lake Geneva, was named to Fort Lewis College’s Dean’s List for the spring 2018 semester. Davis is majoring in economics.
  • Julia Adams and Bridget Bartal were on the Lawrence University Dean’s List for the 2017-18 academic year.
  • Joshua Oswald and Devin Weigandt graduated May 13 from Ripon College. Oswald, of Elkhorn, majored in biology and economics. Weigandt, of Lake Geneva, majored in chemistry-biology, with a minor in Latin. He also was named to Ripon’s Dean’s List.
  • Erin Bailey and Rachel Myers were named to the Dean’s List at Ripon College. Bailey, of Walworth, is majoring in politics and government. Myers, of Lake Geneva, majoring in music with a minor in educational studies.
  • Carmen Consolino, Elkhorn, was inducted into the American International College’s Athletic Director’s 3.0 Club, recognizing academic achievement among student-athletes.
  • U.S. Rep. Paul Ryan has nominated the following students for appointment to military academies: Kevin Borman, Elkhorn, Badger High School, nominated to the U.S. Naval Academy and the U.S. Military Academy; Carson Hillier, Genoa City, graduate of Badger High School, nominated to the U.S. Naval Academy; Christian Karabas, Fontana, Big Foot High School, nominated to the U.S. Naval Academy; and Nichole Ritzman, Elkhorn Badger High School, nominated to the U.S. Air Force Academy.
  • Alexandra Ritzman, of Elkhorn, a nursing student, will spend the fall semester in Haiti as part of Indiana Wesleyan University’s Study Abroad program.
  • Katrina Granberg, of Williams Bay, was selected Glow Night Coordinator on the 2018 Homecoming Steering Committee at UW-Whitewater.

Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.